The Governing Body of The Academy of St. Nicholas is commited to ensuring that every student achieves their full potential.

The Governing Body can be contacted via the Clerk to Governors, Mrs Catherine McGoohan, at 51 Horrocks Avenue, Liverpool, L19 5NY.

Mr C. Cleugh is the Chair of the Local Governing Body and Mr B Marsh is the Chair of the Trust Board. Both Chairs are contactable via Catherine McGoohan, Executive Officer to the Trust, at 51 Horrocks Avenue, Liverpool, L19 5NY and on 0151 230 2570.

Welcome from the Chair of Governors

Welcome to the Academy of St Nicholas.
I am honoured to have been asked by the Trustees to Chair the Governing Body. I have recently retired after 41 years in the teaching profession including 23 years as the Head of two Catholic Schools and will endeavour to use my experience in guiding the strategic development of the Academy. All the Governors here are committed to ensure that St Nicholas' provides the best possible education for our pupils. We work very closely with the Executive Head and the Headteacher in implementing our challenging strategic plan. I hope to meet many of you at the many varied functions at the Academy in the year ahead.
May God bless you and yours always
Chris Cleugh


Governors' Committees

Committee Members
Challenge Board Chris Cleugh
Carol Chapman
Dr. Eddie Boyes
Barbara Murray
Heather Duggan
Finance and Business Chris Cleugh
Barbara Murray
Fr. Edward Cain
Admissions, Inclusion and Ethos Carol Chapman (Chair)
Dr. Eddie Boyes
Fr. Edward Cain
Emma Maddocks
David Ellis

Roles & Responsibilities

       Teaching & Learning - Chris Cleugh
       Safeguarding - Carol Chapman
       Attendance - Dr. Eddie Boyes
       Ethos - Fr. Edward Cain
       Pupil Premium - Heather Duggan
       Parent Governor - David Ellis
       Staff Governor - Emma Maddocks 

Percentage Attendance at Governor Meetings

Meeting Attendance %
17 November 2016 8 out of 8 attended=100%
12 December 2016 (extraordinary) 8 out of 8 attended=100%
28 March 2017 8 out of 9 attended = 89%
29 June 2017 7 out of 9 attended = 78%
Average governor attendance for 2016/2017 period = 91.18%


Register of Business Interests for Academy Governors

Name of Governor Details of Business
Interests Declared
Details of any Business
interests of immediate
Members of Family
Date of last
Mr Chris Cleugh None None N/A
Dr Edward Boyes None None 24th November 2015
Fr Edward Cain None None 24th November 2015
Ms Carol Chapman Chair of Governors -
Palmerston Special School

Chair of Governors - 
Much Woolton CPS
  24th November 2015
Councillor Barbara Murray Chair of Governors - 
Blueberry Park Primary School

Member of Council of Governors - 
Alder Hey Children's Foundation
Hospital Trust

Elected member -
Liverpool City Council

Member -
Audit and Governance Select Comittee

Lead Member for Scrutiny and
Performance on Merseyside Fire and
Rescue Authority

Member of the Labour Party

Member NASUWT Teaching Union
  24th November 2015
Heather Duggan Headteacher -
Archbishop Blanch School
None September 2014
David Ellis None None N/A
Emma Maddocks None None N/A


Additional Documents

Connect with us

 The Academy of St Nicholas

51 Horrocks Avenue
L19 5NY
Tel: 0151 230 2570
Email: info@theacademyofstnicholas.org.uk

How to find us

© Copyright 2017 - Website designed and created by The Academy of St Nicholas